Pennsylvania SPCA

logo (3)Today is my 30th birthday.  I’ve been afraid of this birthday for a while now – not because of the number (because, as I would like to point out, my 30th birthday signifies the END of my 30th year of life.  I’m cooking up 31 now.) – but rather because I’ve had friends who went totally insane on their 30th.  Something about getting older, one foot in the grave, yada yada.

I don’t make new year’s resolutions (no one likes to fail THAT often), and I don’t have a great track record with goal setting either.  But I DID make a promise to myself that this year I was going to spend more time with friends and family, and I’m already well on my way to success.  In fact, I think I’ve spent more time with my loved ones in the first 18 days of 2013 than all of 2012 combined.

So for my 30th birthday, I’m making a donation in my mother’s and father’s name.  As has been pointed out to me on several occasions, my parents want to celebrate my birthday as much, if not more, than I do.  All I did on my birthday was get born.  They made life.  (You win this round, MOM.*)  So I called my Pops and asked where he’d like a donation made.  He selected the PSPCA.  As an only child, my family’s furry companions were the closest thing I ever had to siblings, so I come from a long line of animal lovers.

So thanks for the last 30 years. Today I’m happy to honor my mother and father in this small way.  After all, they did give me literally everything.

*This is a disclaimer in case my mother reads this.  Mom, you will ask me why I said “You win this round,” as if my life were some sort of contest that I’m trying to win.  It was a joke.  Please don’t make me explain it.  I love you.

Leave a Reply

